Toronto Maple Leafs

Founded: 1917
Team Owner: Larry Tanenbaum
Head Coach: Sheldon Keefe
Captain: John Tavares
Team Icon: Mats Sundin
Overall Record: 3,054-2,850-783
Minor League Affiliate: Toronto Marlies (AHL), Newfoundland Growlers (ECHL)
Stanley Cup Championships: 13 (1917–18, 1921–22, 1931–32, 1941–42, 1944–45, 1946–47, 1947–48, 1948–49, 1950–51, 1961–62, 1962–63, 1963–64, 1966–67)
Arena: Scotiabank Arena
Arena Capacity: 18,800
City: Toronto, Ontario
Toronto Maple Leafs

The Toronto Maple Leafs began their long history as the Toronto Arenas in 1917, and switched to the Toronto St. Patricks in 1919 in hopes of attracting fans from Toronto's booming Irish population. Conn Smythe bought the club in 1927 and his first order of business was to rename the team. Smythe chose the name Maple Leafs to honor the Maple Leaf regiment he fought in during World War I, and also may have been influenced a bit by the former Toronto hockey outfit that had previously been known as the East Maple Leaves.

<< Eastern Conference | Boston Bruins | Montreal Canadiens | Tampa Bay Lightning | Toronto Maple Leafs | Florida Panthers | Detroit Red Wings | Buffalo Sabres | Ottawa Senators