Detroit Red Wings

Founded: 1926
Team Owner: Ilitch Holdings
Head Coach: vacant
Captain: Dylan Larkin
Team Icon: Gordie Howe
Overall Record: 3,021-2,614-815
Minor League Affiliate: Grand Rapids Griffins (AHL), Toledo Walleye (ECHL)
Stanley Cup Championships: 11 (1935–36, 1936–37, 1942–43, 1949–50, 1951–52, 1953–54, 1954–55, 1996–97, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2007–08)
Arena: Little Caesars Arena
Arena Capacity: 19,515
City: Detroit, MI
Detroit Red Wings

Detroit wasn't always known as the Red Wings. They began as the Detroit Cougars in 1926, and changed to the Detroit Falcons in 1930. James Norris bought the club in 1932 and decided to rename the team to the Red Wings. This was a nod to the "Winged Wheelers" which was the nickname of the hockey club Norris played for in Montreal. He chose the winged wheel as their logo to honor Detroit's booming automobile industry.

<< Eastern Conference | Boston Bruins | Montreal Canadiens | Tampa Bay Lightning | Toronto Maple Leafs | Florida Panthers | Detroit Red Wings | Buffalo Sabres | Ottawa Senators