Minnesota Wild

Founded: 2000
Team Owner: Craig Leipold
Head Coach: Dean Evason
Captain: Jared Spurgeon
Team Icon: Zach Parise
Overall Record: 812-621-55
Minor League Affiliate: Iowa Wild (AHL), Iowa Heartlanders (ECHL)
Stanley Cup Championships: nada
Arena: Xcel Energy Center
Arena Capacity: 17,954
City: St. Paul, MN
Website: www.nhl.com/wild
Minnesota Wild

Minnesota didn't go long without a hockey franchise after losing the North Stars in 1993. When they got their new team, they opened up naming to a name-the-team contest. Many suggestions were offered including Northern Lights, Voyageurs, Blue Ox, Freeze, and White Bears. Ownership decided to go with the Minnesota Wild.

<< Western Conference | Colorado Avalanche | Chicago Blackhawks | Saint Louis Blues | Winnipeg Jets | Nashville Predators | Dallas Stars | Minnesota Wild