New York Giants

Founded: August 1, 1925
Team Owner: John Mara & Steve Tisch
Head Coach: Brian Daboll
Team Icon: Lawrence Taylor
Overall Record: 706-631-33
Fight Songs: All Hail - New York Giants
NFL Championships: 1927, 1934, 1938, 1956, 1986, 1990, 2007, 2011
Stadium: MetLife Stadium (2010–present)
Stadium Capacity: 82,500
City: East Rutherford, NJ
Previous Stadiums: Polo Grounds (1925–1955), Yankee Stadium (1956–1973), Yale Bowl (1973–1974), Shea Stadium (1975), Giants Stadium (1976–2009)
New York Giants

Tim Mara, the original owner of the New York Giants in 1925, named his team after the National League MLB Giants who were very popular at the time. This was an era when baseball was by far the most popular sport in the United States, and Mara wanted to capitalize on the name equity that the local MLB franchise had entrenched in the locals.

So how did the New York baseball Giants get their name? They were named after all of the giant buildings sprouting up in New York City.

<< NFC | Dallas Cowboys | New York Giants | Philadelphia Eagles | Washington Commanders