Los Angeles Chargers

Founded: August 14, 1959
Team Owner: Dean Spanos
Head Coach: Brandon Staley
Team Icon: Junior Seau
Overall Record: 468-470-11
Fight Songs: Los Angeles Super Chargers
NFL Championships: 1963
Stadium: SoFi Stadium (2020-present)
Stadium Capacity: 70,240
City: Inglewood, CA
Previous Stadiums: Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum (1960), Balboa Stadium (1961–66), Qualcomm Stadium (1967–2016), Dignity Health Sports Park (2017–2019)
Website: www.chargers.com
Los Angeles Chargers

This team started out in 1960 as the Los Angeles Chargers of the new AFL. A "name-the-team" contest resulted in the nickname of this squad to be Chargers. Rumor has it that the owner, Barron Hilton, opened a letter from the contest that contained the name Chargers and liked it so much he didn't bother opening any of the other submissions. 

Unfortunately for Hilton and his new team, attendance was horrible during their first year in Los Angeles where they had a hard time getting over 10,000 fans in the stands. The next year the team moved to San Diego and enjoyed better attendance as well as team success winning the AFL title in only their third year. Fast-forward to 2017 and the Chargers relocated back to their birthplace of Los Angeles to join the also recently relocated Rams. Like the two New York (New Jersey) teams, the two Los Angeles teams play in the same building - SoFi Stadium.

<< AFC | Denver Broncos | Kansas City Chiefs | Las Vegas Raiders | Los Angeles Chargers