Kansas City Chiefs

Founded: August 14, 1959
Team Owner: The Hunt Family
Head Coach: Andy Reid
Team Icon: Patrick Mahomes
Overall Record: 507-430-12
Fight Songs: The Chiefs Are On the Warpath
NFL Championships: 1962, 1966, 1969, 2019, 2022
Stadium: Arrowhead Stadium (1972–present)
Stadium Capacity: 76,416
City: Kansas City, MO
Previous Stadiums: Cotton Bowl (1960–1962), Municipal Stadium (1963–1971)
Website: www.kcchiefs.com
Kansas City Chiefs

The Kansas City Chiefs began their existence in Texas as the Dallas Texans playing in the AFL. When the NFL created the Dallas Cowboys to put the AFL Texans franchise out of business, team owner Lamar Hunt moved his team to Kansas City where there was no NFL team to compete with. He originally called them the Kansas City Texans, but soon decided he could drum up much needed interest in his club by holding a "name-the-team" contest fans could participate in. 

Some of the names submitted in the contest were Royals, Stars, and Mules, but Hunt ultimately decided on calling them the Kansas City Chiefs we all are familiar with. His reasoning was that it was locally important due to the Native Americans who once lived in the region, although he may also have been influenced by the mayor of Kansas City at the time, H. Roe Bartle, whose nickname was The Chief.

<< AFC | Denver Broncos | Kansas City Chiefs | Las Vegas Raiders | Los Angeles Chargers