Detroit Tigers

Founded: 1894
Team Owner: Ilitch Holdings
Manager: A. J. Hinch
Team Icon: Ty Cobb
Overall Record: 9,446-9,311
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Toledo Mud Hens
World Series Titles: 1935, 1945, 1968, 1984
Stadium: Comerica Park (2000–present)
Stadium Capacity: 41,083
Previous Ball Parks: Tiger Stadium (1912–1999), Bennett Park (1896–1911) Boulevard Park (1894–1895)
City: Detroit, MI
Detroit Tigers

Detroit began as a minor league baseball team known as the Wolverines. During that time they were also sometimes referred to as the Tigers which was also a nickname of one of Michigan's oldest military units - the 425th National Guard infantry regiment that spent some time fighting in the Civil War as well as in the Spanish-American contest. 

The team asked the Guard permission to use the name Tigers in 1900 when they joined the American League and was given authority to use the moniker.

<< American League | Cleveland Guardians | Kansas City Royals | Detroit Tigers | Minnesota Twins | Chicago White Sox