New York Knicks

Founded: 1946
Team Owner: The Madison Square Garden Company
Head Coach: Derek Fisher
Team Icon: Patrick Ewing
Overall Record: 2652-2659
D-League Affiliate: Westchester Knicks
Championships: 1970, 1973
Arena: Madison Square Garden
Arena Capacity: 19,812
Arena Co-Tenants: New York Rangers (NHL), New York Liberty (WNBA), St. John's Red Storm (NCAA)
City: New York City, NY
New York Knicks

The New York Knicks are another team that had an owner who took matters into his own hands and named the team without the crutch of one of those pesky name-the-team contests. Ned Irish, Founder of the team back in 1946, named his team the New York Knickerbockers which has been shortened to Knicks since. 

The term Knickerbocker referred to the rolled up pants just below the knee which the Dutch settlers in the New World were known to sport in the 1600s. Many of these Dutch people settled in New York which inspired Irish to name his new team in their honor.

<< Estern Conference | Boston Celtics | Brooklyn Nets | New York Knicks | Philadelphia 76ers | Toronto Raptors