Charlotte Hornets

Founded: 1988
Team Owner: Michael Jordan
Head Coach: Steve Clifford
Team Icon: Glen Rice
Overall Record: 855-1121
D-League Affiliate: Fort Wayne Mad Ants
Championships: nada
Arena: Time Warner Cable Arena
Arena Capacity: 19,077
Arena Co-Tenants: Charlotte Checkers (AHL), Charlotte Sting (WNBA)
City: Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Hornets

The Charlotte Hornets used to play in Charlotte established as an expansion team in 1988, but relocated to New Orleans to become the New Orleans Hornets following the 2001-02 season. Charlotte did not go long without a professional basketball franchise as they were awarded a new team for the 2004 season. A name the team contest picked Bobcats as their moniker over two other options - Dragons and Flight.

The Bobcats played for ten seasons under this nickname until it changed its name back to the original Hornets nickname in 2014. It was able to steal back Hornets after the New Orleans Hornets, Charlotte's original team that relocated, renamed itself the Pelicans. Confused yet?

<< Estern Conference | Atlanta Hawks | Orlando Magic | Washington Wizards | Charlotte Hornets | Miami Heat