St. Louis Cardinals

Founded: 1882
Team Owner: William DeWitt, Jr.
Manager: Oliver Marmol
Team Icon: Ozzie Smith
Overall Record: 11,038-10,163
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Memphis Redbirds
World Series Titles: 1926, 1931, 1934, 1942, 1944, 1946, 1964, 1967, 1982, 2006, 2011
Stadium: Busch Stadium (III) (2006–present)
Stadium Capacity: 45,494
Previous Ball Parks: Busch Stadium (II) (1966–2005), Sportsman's Park (1920–1966), Robison Field (1893–1920), Sportsman's Park (1882–1892)
City: St. Louis, MO
St. Louis Cardinals

St. Louis began its storied history as the St. Louis Brown Stockings which was later shortened to the Browns. In 1899 the team changed its name to the Perfectos, most likely in hope of never losing another game. To go with their new name they also changed their sock color to red.

During that season a reporter overheard a woman comment on the team's new red socks as a "lovely shade of cardinal." The columnist, Willie McHale, referred to the team as the Cardinals in his newspaper column and the fans loved it. So much so that the team officially changed the team name to Cardinals the next year of 1900.

<< National League | Milwaukee Brewers | St. Louis Cardinals | Chicago Cubs | Pittsburgh Pirates | Cincinnati Reds