Los Angeles Angels

Founded: 1961
Team Owner: Arte & Carole Moreno
Manager: Joe Maddon
Team Icon: Rod Carew
Overall Record: 4,812-4,838
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Salt Lake Bees
World Series Titles: 2002
Stadium: Angel Stadium of Anaheim (1966–present)
Stadium Capacity: 45,517
Previous Ball Parks: Chavez Ravine (1962–1965), Wrigley Field (Los Angeles) (1961)
City: Anaheim, CA
Website: www.mlb.com/angels
Los Angeles Angels

Los Angeles was awarded an American League franchise in 1961. Gene Autry bought rights to the new team as well as to the Angels name which was previously owned by Walter O'Malley, a previous Dodgers owner. Why Walt had the rights to the Angels name is beyond me, but why not I guess. I'm sure Gene paid a pretty penny for it.

The team started as the Los Angeles Angels, but quickly changed to the California Angels when they moved to Anaheim in 1966. Once the Walt Disney Company took ownership of the team in 1996, they changed their name to the Anaheim Angels. New ownership took over in 2005 and again changed the name to the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in hopes of tapping into the LA market. Their lease with the city of Anaheim at the time binded them to having the city name in their name, hence the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim monstrosity. Cooler heads prevailed in 2015 which allowed them to drop the Anaheim part so they could simply be known as the Los Angeles Angels. And the people rejoiced. And all was good in the world again.

<< American League | Los Angeles Angels | Houston Astros | Oakland Athletics | Seattle Mariners | Texas Rangers