Houston Astros

Founded: 1962
Team Owner: Jim Crane
Manager: Dusty Baker
Team Icon: Nolan Ryan
Overall Record: 4,725-4,764
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Sugar Land Space Cowboys
World Series Titles: 2017, 2022
Stadium: Minute Maid Park (2000–present)
Stadium Capacity: 41,168
Previous Ball Parks: Astrodome (1965–1999), Colt Stadium (1962–1964)
City: Houston, TX
Website: www.mlb.com/astros
Houston Astros

Houston has had a franchise since 1962, but they haven't always been the Houston Astros. They started out as the Houston Colt .45s. A few years later in 1965 team president Judge Roy Hofheinz made the decision to change the name in order to keep with the times, but most likely to no longer infringe on the Colt Firearms Company famous trademark.

So the team looked no further than the city's aeronautics and space industry across town and went with Astros to honor Houston as what they considered to be the space age capital of the world. They intended to become the sports capital of the world, and did finally win their first World Series title in 2017 followed up by another less controversial one in 2022, but let's pump the brakes on calling them Titletown quite yet, maybe accumulate some more hardware to fill up a trophy case and we'll talk then.

<< American League | Los Angeles Angels | Houston Astros | Oakland Athletics | Seattle Mariners | Texas Rangers