Baltimore Orioles

Founded: 1901
Team Owner: Peter Angelos
Manager: Brandon Hyde
Team Icon: Cal Ripken, Jr.
Overall Record: 8,845-9,873
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Norfolk Tides
World Series Titles: 1966, 1970, 1983
Stadium: Oriole Park at Camden Yards (1992–present)
Stadium Capacity: 44,970
Previous Ball Parks: Memorial Stadium (1954–1991), Sportsman's Park (St. Louis) (1902–1953), Lloyd Street Grounds (Milwaukee) (1895–1901), Borchert Field (Milwaukee) (1894)
City: Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Orioles

Baseball teams have been known as the Orioles (Maryland's state bird) as early as 1882, but the current installment has only been there for the better part of half a century. In fact the New York Yankees began their existence in Baltimore as the Orioles in 1901. Soon afterwards they relocated to New York where they eventually became the hated Yankees. 

The current team in Baltimore moved to the city in 1954 from St. Louis where they were known as the Browns. After relocating to Baltimore they adopted the Orioles nickname used by other teams throughout the late 1800's and early twentieth century. The Orange and Black colors were also taken from the bird, but also somewhat matched the colors on the coat of arms of Lord Baltimore.

<< American League | Toronto Blue Jays | Baltimore Orioles | Tampa Bay Rays | Boston Red Sox | New York Yankees