New York Yankees

Founded: 1901
Team Owner: Yankee Global Enterprises
Manager: Aaron Boone
Team Icon: Babe Ruth
Overall Record: 10,621-8,090
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
World Series Titles: 1923, 1927, 1928, 1932, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1943, 1947, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1956, 1958, 1961, 1962, 1977, 1978, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2009
Stadium: Yankee Stadium (II) (2009–present)
Stadium Capacity: 46,537
Previous Ball Parks: Yankee Stadium (I) (1976–2008), Shea Stadium (1974–1975), Yankee Stadium (I) (1923–1973), Polo Grounds (IV) (1913–1922), Hilltop Park (1903–1912), Oriole Park (Baltimore) (1901–1902)
City: New York City, NY
New York Yankees

The Yankees began their long storied history as the Baltimore Orioles in 1901. They were planning on playing in New York all along, but a turf dispute with then National League team New York Giants left them without the needed permission for an American League team to play in New York City. So they headed south for a couple of years, finally getting clearance and setting up shop in NYC for the start of the 1903 season.

Due to an agreement with the New York Giants baseball club, the American League team would be known vaguely as the Greater New York Baseball Club. Sportswriters began coming up with nicknames for the nameless team, and one that caught on was Highlanders after the team's president, Gordon Highlander, and the team's ballpark which was on high ground. Soon after the name Yankees got kicked around after the popular song "Yankee Doodle Dandy" of the time and the rest is history. The team became exclusively known as the Yankees from 1913 on.

<< American League | Toronto Blue Jays | Baltimore Orioles | Tampa Bay Rays | Boston Red Sox | New York Yankees