Arizona Diamondbacks

Founded: 1998
Team Owner: Ken Kendrick
Manager: Torey Lovullo
Team Icon: Luis Gonzalez
Overall Record: 1,840-1,946
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Reno Aces
World Series Titles: 2001
Stadium: Chase Field (1998–present)
Stadium Capacity: 48,405
Previous Ball Parks: 2001
City: Phoenix, AZ
Arizona Diamondbacks

Arizona was awarded an expansion franchise in 1995, and they did what any new team has done in the past 50 years. They held a name-the-team contest. The good people of the Grand Canyon state came up with many fitting nickname possibilities including Rattlers, Coyotes, Scorpions, and yes, Phoenix. They should have gone with the Arizona Phoenix which probably would have resulted in the universe imploding. 

Out of all the formidable candidates, the team owners decided to go with Diamondbacks. This moniker reflects not only the desert rattlesnake that frequents the area, but also a clever reference to baseball's diamond in which the game is played.

<< National League | Arizona Diamondbacks | Los Angeles Dodgers | San Francisco Giants | San Diego Padres | Colorado Rockies