Miami Marlins

Founded: 1993
Team Owner: Bruce Sherman
Manager: Don Mattingly
Team Icon: Gary Sheffield
Overall Record: 2,088-2,438
AAA Minor League Affiliate: Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp
World Series Titles: 1997, 2003
Stadium: LoanDepot Park (2012–present)
Stadium Capacity: 36,742
Previous Ball Parks: Sun Life Stadium (1993–2011)
City: Miami, FL
Miami Marlins

Florida was awarded an expansion team in 1993, and they paid homage to various baseball clubs teams that had played in Miami in years past by using the Marlins nickname that minor league teams in the 1950s, 1960s, and 1980s were known as. The team was originally known as the Florida Marlins in hopes of attracting fans throughout the state.

They changed to the Miami Marlins in 2012 to get financial assistance from the city in order to help pay for their new ballpark.

<< National League | Atlanta Braves | Miami Marlins | New York Mets | Washington Nationals | Philadelphia Phillies